Skip to content

English Has a New Preposition, Because Internet

December 11, 2013
tags: ,

English Has a New Preposition, Because Internet:

fizzylimon:

cubstearns:

However it originated, though, the usage of “because-noun” (and of “because-adjective” and “because-gerund”) is one of those distinctly of-the-Internet, by-the-Internet movements of language. It conveys focus (linguist Gretchen McCulloch: “It means something like ‘I’m so busy being totally absorbed by X that I don’t need to explain further, and you should know about this because it’s a completely valid incredibly important thing to be doing’”). It conveys brevity (Carey: “It has a snappy, jocular feel, with a syntactic jolt that allows long explanations to be forgone” “It has a snappy, jocular feel, with a syntactic jolt that allows long explanations to be forgone”).

But it also conveys a certain universality. When I say, for example, “The talks broke down because politics,” I’m not just describing a circumstance. I’m also describing a category. I’m making grand and yet ironized claims, announcing a situation and commenting on that situation at the same time. I’m offering an explanation and rolling my eyes — and I’m able to do it with one little word. Because variety. Because Internet. Because language.

Reblogging. Because linguistics.

One of my favorite things is linguists validating Internet language. So many people decry what the Internet does to society, and seeing more intelligent and accomplished people than myself excited by it is vindicating. Because come on. Internet.

via Tumblr http://michelletells.tumblr.com/post/69743141180

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

