Skip to content

♪♫Fun fun fun fun♪♫

October 11, 2012

Since I joined Twitter four years ago I’ve Tweeted over 9,000 times. Twitter has become my favorite platform, my favorite social media and my Twitter presence is something I’ve invest a lot of time and effort into. I only joined Twitter to keep up with the friends I’d made online though the Harry Potter fandom and YouTube community. Looking back now, we geeks were early adopters and at the time we had no idea how important and powerful the tool would become.

Sometimes I…

  • I tweet things with typoes and I delete them only to repost them.
  • Retweet silly things.
  • change my avatar on a whim and add “Twibbons” for causes when I feel like it.
  • Reply to every mention I get.
  • Geotag when I’m somewhere interneting.
  • Enter contest with my Twitter.
  • Use my Twitter to login into 3rd party websites.
  • Sometimes I Tweet at and about whoever I feel like.

Whatever I do on my Twitter only affects my personal brand. I take responsibly for mistakes. The only person they affect is me. At least, I did, until I got a job Tweeting. My mom always taught me that “The only person whose actions you can control are your own.” That’s not true anymore, mom!

This past summer I got a job/internship at a YouTube network. A YouTube network is similar to a record label, they’re responsible for talent management. My company, Big Frame, is a brand itself while it oversees multiple YouTube video creators/artistis/talent. These talent all follow our @BigFrameCo Twitter, as do many local start ups we have relationships with, big YouTubers and their followers. The account is the blog and is where the public looks to when there are YouTube issues we need to respond to.

Anyway, my main responsibility was to Tweet the videos of (and @) the talent had posted for the day, as well as respond to our interactions. At first it was fun. It stopped being fun the first time I messed up.

This was when I misspelled one of our top talent’s handle. He publicly called me out on it, except he didn’t know it was little ol’ intern me, he replied the BigFrameCo account. I promptly deleted the Tweet and posted a fixed on , but his reply remained for all to see. It was my bad, but it made the company look bad.

I’d like to say that was the first time it happened, but alas, it was not. Luckily I noticed the other typoes and broken links before the people involved noticed, but still, I knew. I still feel bad about it. I never felt bad when I did that on my on account, I just laughed it off. “Oopsie daisy.” There’s no “oppsie daisy” when you’re a company!

oops

There was a situation we discussed in the office as gossip re: a company NOT running their Twitter right and how horribly it made them look. Remember the Aurora shooting? Of course, everybody knew about it in America, we even made it a worldwide trending topic on July 20th, 2012. Celebboutique.com Tweeted #Aurora is trending, clearly about our Kim K inspired #Aurora dress 😉

The Tweet was only live for a couple hours but the press noticed! It was receded with an apology and the explanation that their public relations team was not US-based and genuinely didn’t know the true reason for the trending topic. Still, the damage was done. Lesson learned, @celebboutique!

There were social dilemmas too. Multiple times we got messages from a YouTube whom we had decided not to sign into out network about reapplying. He was persistent and we didn’t want to come off as brash or mean, so we ignored his @replies. I, as head intern and queen of Twitter, had the opportunity to represent, to BE, the company to the whole wide internet. I still shudder at that responsibility.

My Twitter internship experience was certainly a learning experience. I now double-check my spelling before I tweet anything and I have a lot more respect for companies who handle social media well because I now know how hard it really is. TWSS.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

