Skip to content

MichelleTells Extra #1

April 11, 2011

This isn’t an analysis post :O
This is a video from my channel as a part of my VEDA challenge. I encourage you to double-click on the embedded video ^ and check out the comments. I would really appreciate your comments too of course!

~

Another note, it’s been brought to my attention that my posts would be more interesting if I embedded pictures as well as videos. The reason I choose not to do that is because I am very cautious of infringing copyrights. At some point I intend to host this blog on my own server and display ads, and I would prefer to have a perfectly clean standing on my Adsense. I’m aware that most other blogs freely use others’ content claiming “fair use.” Sometimes that is valid, but most do not take into consideration that “fair use” is a (legal) defense but not a right!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2011 9:04 pm

    is it not ok to embed these videos into your blog even if it is for academic purposes and not for recreation? I had no idea that this was such a problem and illegal.

    • May 11, 2011 9:23 pm

      @isthatyouchris
      I think embedding videos is (more) okay because the uploader is permitting it to happen. Everyone has the option of disabling embedding their videos and the ones I discuss haven’t.

  2. Geoff Lee permalink
    May 13, 2011 9:34 am

    Fair use is an interesting rights problem online nowadays. You do the right thing to play it safe. I, on the other hand, do not. I’m constantly embedding scenes of films on YouTube into my posts that are blatantly infringing on copyrights. I think that as far as having a clean AdSense slate, you will be fine if the post is not copyrighted material, and if it is, it is a very little part of your blog. If someone were to go after you for infringement, they would probably go after the uploader. The same goes for pictures and other media, as long as the content isn’t on your server. Correct me if I’m wrong.

Leave a Reply

