Skip to content

An Introduction

February 14, 2011

As you can tell from the header, I am Michelle and I’m going to be telling you about YouTube videos that matter. (But we’re going to be a bit more interactive than that!)

What’s this blog about?
This blog is going to be focused on analyzing YouTube videos that are relevant to YouTube’s history. My mission statement is “to raise awareness of crucial YouTube videos and explore why they are relevant to digital media history.” I have two goals:

1. To introduce you to important past videos you have forgotten or didn’t know existed.
1. To preserve these videos in a historical context, pointing out what is notable about them. I’m going to function as a sort of “YouTube historian.”  I feel like things on the web change so quickly that they need to be actively documented more or we’ll lose valuable history.

Who would want to read about this?
Hopefully, you! This is an academic blog intended to be read by digital historians and YouTube content creators. Do you care about the history of digital media? This blog is for you! Do you want to discuss some interesting YouTube videos? This blog is for you!

What’s the plan?
I’m going to introduce a special video once a week following this format:

Title of post
Embedded video
Title of video
Uploader
Date posted
Context
Subject
Reception (quote comments)
My analysis why it’s relevant to YouTube history

Why do you care what I have to say?
I’ve been watching and making online videos since 2006 (I first signed up for YouTube on June 6th, 2006 – 666!) For years I was mostly passive- observing, commenting and learning the media as it developed. About three and a half years ago I became a more active participant and started attending real life YouTube gatherings. From these gatherings I made my first real connections with other YouTubers. Meeting these peers, with whom I later became friends with, really shaped my interest and dedication to the website and our community. I now a “YouTube partner” and proud part of the huge network of these friends and collaborators. They’ve influenced my choice for college and have inspired me to want to venture into online video/media creation or marketing as my future career. I am currently a Freshman studying at a university in Southern California.

Picture of myself, Michelle

This is me.

My Links~

http:///www.youtube.com/MichelleTells
http://www.twitter.com/Michelle_Potter
http://www.facebook.com/MichelleTells

 

 

 

I’m can’t wait to read your comments even if all you want to say is “FIRST!!11!!!” but if you have any suggestions, especially about how I could improve my design, please don’t hesitate to let me know. Also don’t forget to  thumbs up and subscribe!.. oh wait, this isn’t a video! 😉

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2011 4:58 pm

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Betsie permalink
    March 19, 2011 12:39 pm

    Great idea for a blog!

Leave a Reply

